Typed Forms Migration

As of Angular 14, reactive forms are strictly typed by default.

Overview of Typed Forms

With Angular reactive forms, you explicitly specify a form model. As a simple example, consider this basic user login form:

const login = new FormGroup({
email: new FormControl(''),
password: new FormControl(''),

Angular provides many APIs for interacting with this FormGroup. For example, you may call login.value, login.controls, login.patchValue, etc. (For a full API reference, see the API documentation.)

In previous Angular versions, most of these APIs included any somewhere in their types, and interacting with the structure of the controls, or the values themselves, was not type-safe. For example: you could write the following invalid code:

const emailDomain = login.value.email.domain;

With strictly typed reactive forms, the above code does not compile, because there is no domain property on email.

In addition to the added safety, the types enable a variety of other improvements, such as better autocomplete in IDEs, and an explicit way to specify form structure.

These improvements currently apply only to reactive forms (not template-driven forms).

Automated Untyped Forms Migration

When upgrading to Angular 14, an included migration will automatically replace all the forms classes in your code with corresponding untyped versions. For example, the snippet from above would become:

const login = new UntypedFormGroup({
email: new UntypedFormControl(''),
password: new UntypedFormControl(''),

Each Untyped symbol has exactly the same semantics as in previous Angular versions, so your application should continue to compile as before. By removing the Untyped prefixes, you can incrementally enable the types.